Thanksgiving 2012

Winter makes me crazy. When it’s been dark for hours, I feel terrible. I need my sun to really live. But in spite of that, we had a good Thanksgiving.

Thanksgiving Day

We had beautiful weather for November. I made the boys turn off their video games and go outside. Julian wanted me to play with him, so I entered his world of imagination. We played Ninjas. I had to pick a color of Ninja to be (I think I chose green). Then we ran around, using our “Special Moves.” Roman’s favorite special move was “elemental rage.” Julian always makes sure his special moves trump everyone else’s. (“No, you can’t block my lightning! You’re frozen!”) I must have been coming up with some good stuff, because the only reason we stopped playing was because it was time to cook.

We invited Mom and Dad to our house for the Thanksgiving feast this year. Mom was happy to not have to cook. And I just got some new decorations for the living room and dining room, so of course Thanksgiving had to be at my house!

Daddy always has to have “five kinds of pie.” It’s his ritual. So Mom and Dad came over bearing four pies and a pie plate with cookies in it.

Rick made the turkey. I don’t cook meat very often because I don’t do it well, and this year it made me sad to see all those dead turkey bodies wrapped in plastic at WalMart. But I sure ate Rick’s turkey! It was succulent and tasty. We enjoyed the food and each other thoroughly.

Daddy! We haven’t even eaten yet!

As much as I love to shop, I don’t do Black Friday or Gray Thursday, No Way. I have more than a little problem with crowds. So we just went for a walk, visited, napped, and played video games all day on Thanksgiving. Even though it wasn’t cold out, we sat in front of the fireplace when it got dark because it seemed like a cozy thing to do.

Friday

We put up the Christmas tree and all the decorations. I was in my element, moving knick knacks around and saying, “This is fun!” I loved that Roman got into it too. The boys put up a little tree in their room, with the freedom to use almost any ornaments they wanted. I think Roman felt proud of his creation. Julian got bored of decorating after a while, so he took to bugging me. We almost went out for hamburgers, but decided to stay home instead. I asked Rick to make some stir fry out of the leftover turkey so I could finish decorating, and again it was a success.

Saturday

I was ready to get out of the house, so I went shopping for craft supplies (and groceries). I saved 20% instead of 30% at Michael’s by skipping Black Friday, and it was totally worth it for the peace and quiet that was in it.

Saturday night was Ilsa’s birthday party at Noah’s Art. She is such a happy, grateful receiver of gifts. It was fun to watch her open them. The food and fellowship were great too.

Sunday

I taught the toddlers at church. When the lesson is about Noah and the Ark, it’s easy because we just played with the toy boat and all the animals, and we colored rainbows. Plus there were only two kids, so only two diapers to change and nobody ate any art supplies this time.

Sunday afternoon we celebrated Ilsa and Anna’s birthdays jointly at Mom and Dad’s house. More good food, fun, and conversation. Happy 11th birthday to Anna and 6th birthday to Ilsa!

On Thanksgiving, I have to write something corny. So here it is:

Why I am thankful:

I have a family–two parents who have been married for 44 years, a brother and two sisters, six nieces, a husband, two sons, plenty of in-laws, and more nieces or nephews on the way!

There is never a shortage of food. In fact, I overeat at least one meal a week. I get variety too–meat that was raised right, fresh fruits and vegetables, even tropical ones; homemade pies, breads, and cookies…I even get to eat out every weekend.

New toys. What do you think I’m typing on now?

I don’t make friends easily, but when I finally do call someone a friend, it’s for life. I am thankful for my faithful friends, old and new.

My children go to a good school. We accidentally bought a house in the right neighborhood for my first choice of public schools. They have teachers whose eyes dance when they talk about teaching their students to write. We feel lucky.

We like our church, where it’s small enough to know people and not be overwhelming, where you get intelligent teaching, where someone helps you teach your children about God.

I have a job where I actually get paid to read.

There is more, but this blog post is getting long, so please have a good Christmas season!

Leave a Reply

