Courage

I’ve often read that courage is not the lack of fear, but the going ahead and doing what you were afraid of anyway.

When Roman was in first grade, I was surprised when he got an award at school for being a risk-taker. For the first two months of school, I had to walk him through the hallway every day, because he was afraid of the crowds and the noise at dismissal time. And the first time he was to ride the bus for a field trip, neither the teacher nor I could get him into the classroom. He was nervous about the bus ride. “Risk-taker” was the last award I expected him to get. But then I thought about it, and I think I saw what the teacher was thinking. Yes, he was afraid, but he did it! Eventually he did walk the halls alone, and he learned to love bus rides to field trips.

Then there are times when even people who aren’t natural risk takers forget to think before they speak. On Halloween night we went Trick or Treating in our neighborhood. After getting candy at the first house, Julian said loudly enough for everyone in the world to hear, “Older people DO give you more candy!” Gaaah!

Leave a Reply

